Great days afield

Now that August is here, my blood really starts to pump as I get ready for this coming fall.  This is also the time of year when I start looking back at pictures from previous hunts and dream about getting back to some of those places.  Here are just a few of the pictures that I have been looking at over the past few days.

Not the elk that I was looking for that year, but she sure would make some great steaks!!!

Didn’t get an elk on this day but we had a great hike and beautiful view from the top of the hill.

Saw some elk and a cow moose today but couldn’t quite close the deal.  It was a great hike out on our last afternoon.  If you look at the hill side you can see what the pine beetle kill looks like in parts of north central Colorado.

Slightly dejected after missing a nice 5×5 elk.  You can see the small notch the broadhead cut out of the tree, 1/4 inch to the right and I would have killed the elk and not the tree.  Oh well, there is always next year.

Looking back at these pictures really makes me miss Colorado and elk hunting.  There is nothing like the high country and hearing an elk bugle.  Or getting up well before the sun to hike in brisk cold mountain air only to shed layers later in the morning as the sun climbs in the sky.  I can’t wait for my next trip back to elk country.  I think I will break out the cow call and practice a little bit while my wife is out of the house.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

