Setting 2012 Goals

If you talk to anyone who is successful at what they do, odds are they can tell you exactly what their goals are.  More often than not they will have their goals written down somewhere and they will evaluate them often to make sure they are working towards those goals.  When it comes to hunting, I am no different.  Last fall I made the decision that I wanted to expand my hunting horizons and explore some new hunting ground other than the family farm.  I wanted to start hunting public land, which I had almost never done in my home state of Wisconsin until last year.  My goal for the year was to shoot at least a 2 1/2 year old buck on land that was open to public hunting.  In my heavily hunted home state, I thought this would take some effort, but something that I could definitely do.  I put in some long hours scouting and by the end of the season I was able to harvest a nice 2 1/2 year old buck.  I was really proud of that deer and all the work that went into that hunt, especially the drag out.  Here is a picture of my buck from last year.

This year I wanted to try something new so I am going to try to accomplish a few different things.

1. Shoot a deer on the ground on land open to public hunting.

2. Self film a few of my hunts to post here.

3. Introduce someone new to archery. (This is kind of an ongoing goal)

I will keep you posted on how my season is going and how my goals are coming.  What are your goals for the 2012 season?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

