Plans for the New Year

With the 2013 hunting season now in the books, I’m looking forward to what 2014 will bring for Basement Bowhunter.  I’ve never really been one for New Year’s resolutions.  I’ve always thought if I needed to make a big change in my life I should have done it well before Jan. 1st of the coming year.  That said, I do have a few goals for Basement Bowhunter blog and for myself and here they are in no particular order.
More regular blog posts
It goes without saying that so far my blogging has been sporadic at best and that’s been ok with me so far.  However, I would like to write more as a personal goal and doing this blog will fit the bill nicely.  It should also be a nice outlet for my love of hunting and the outdoors.  And then maybe my wife won’t have to listen to me talk about it quite so much, though she is always ever so kind to listen to my latest plans or enjoy a date night at Cabela’s or Bass Pro.
Be more confident shooting my bow
When I was younger, I was much more confident with my equipment than I am today.  I think I am a better shot than I was back then but my confidence in my shooting ability is not what it was.  This will mean shooting regularly, even if it’s just an arrow a day.  So far I’ve kept up with this one and have been shooting every day.  A few other bloggers Sole Adventure and From the Draw are also doing similar things in regards to improving their shooting this year and I’m excited to see how we all fair.
Plan and prepare for an out of state hunt 
Every year I dream of going on another out of state hunt, mainly the mountain west.  While I would love nothing more than to venture out in to God’s great creation and chase elk, mule deer, antelope, turkey, and whitetails in another state, I have a young and growing family along with job obligations that currently limit my ability to leave home when ever I want.  However, when the day comes to go on that hunt, I will be that much more prepared and confident to go.   I wont feel like I’m lost with no idea of where to go or where to start.  This way I can go on a hunt with minimal notice and still feel very confident in my efforts.  Plus I like planning and researching my hunts as much or more than the hunt itself.
Well, it’s not a long list but I think those are all very realistic and attainable goals for Basement Bowhunter this year.  I’m excited to see what 2014 holds and I hope you will enjoy the journey with me.  What are you hoping for in 2014?
Leave a Reply

