Project Public Land

037

A big reason I started this blog was to journal my hunting adventures and share them with friends and family.  I also want this blog to be a place where I can share things I have learned over the years in the hopes that it will help someone else along the way.  I’m going to start a series I call Project Public Land where I will take you along and show you how I go about planning a public land hunt both close to home and out-of-state.  While my main focus will be on big game I will also touch on tureky, small game, and waterfoul as well.  Over the course of the year I will show you all of the ups and downs I encounter.  It’s going to be a great adventure, and hopefully a great learning experience for me and for you too.

Here is some of what you can expect see over the course of this series.  We will look at how to find, scout, and hunt public land.  I will go over the process of picking a western state to hunt for elk, mule deer, and antelope and how to apply for the tag.  I’ll take you through how I find and hunt public lands close to home.  Then we’ll go through where to find useful resources that will help you be a better public land hunter.  I will go through some of the gear I find useful on my public land adventures.  We will discuss different public land hunting strategies and myths.  It will be a lot a ground to cover but there is a lot public land out there to be hunted and you should take advantage of all it has to offer.  There is a lot that goes into planning a successful hunt on public land and I’m excited to share with you my adventure over the course of this year.

Hunting our nations public land can seem like a daunting task if you don’t know where to start.  My hope is that this series gives you the base knowledge to go out and have a public land adventure of your own.  It’s going to be a great year and I can’t wait to share this journey with you.  Please let me know if there is anything you have ever wanted to learn or know about hunting public land and I will do my best to cover that as well.

Leave a Reply

